For Westies-at-watkins.org check out Watkins 2019
For Empirevwcamping.org go to NY State news on the dashboard.

Author Topic: HELP - 1971 Camper  (Read 3928 times)

Anonymous

• LiMBO NEWBEE
    • View Profile
HELP - 1971 Camper
« on: May 25, 2006, 05:11:01 AM »
HELP - 1971 Camper<br>New engine, new carb., fresh gas, gas tank cleaned and reinstalled, new line from tank to carb, new gas filter, new gas pump.  Will start with Ether, runs for about 3 minutes then stalls.  Will not re-start without another shot of Ether?  Please be gentle, as I am not a mechanic - I know just enough to get me in trouble.....any ideas (aside from getting a real mechanic, as this project has now become a matter of principle and I will NOT quit!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by Anonymous »

phil

• Administrator
  • LiMBO NUT
    • View Profile
    • http://www.empirevwcamping.org
Re: HELP - 1971 Camper
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2006, 12:15:43 AM »
Good for you.. don't quit!<br><br>I don't know much about 71's, but spark plugs can tell a big story. After you run it for a while, pull a spark plug or two. Smell it. Do you have a strong smell of gas, or almost no smell at all? Are they wet or dry looking? Gassy smell means your getting fuel in the cylinders. Dry means you are not. <br>I'm betting that you are not getting fuel, or it is restricted. An engine can run for a little while on just Ether you spray in. <br><br>P.S. I recently re-learned a major spark plug lesson when troubleshooting an engine. Comparing the look and smell of two spark plugs I could tell on cylinder was firing and other wasn't.<br>Good Luck
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by phil »

Anonymous

• LiMBO NEWBEE
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2006, 04:15:44 PM »
Are you useing an aftermarket distributor cap? Go OEM if so. I know it's stupid but I had a cheeply made aftermarket cap, I tore the engine apart before finding out it was cracking apart and missing fires.

Anonymous