For Westies-at-watkins.org check out Watkins 2019
For Empirevwcamping.org go to NY State news on the dashboard.

Author Topic: Convert or Rebuild?  (Read 3269 times)

Anonymous

• LiMBO NEWBEE
    • View Profile
Convert or Rebuild?
« on: December 25, 2005, 09:36:58 PM »
I drive an 88 automatic wolfsburg vanagon and i'm pretty sure it's starting to blow up.  It's got about 130k and just in the last couple weeks the cooling system has been building a ton of pressure when i get her going.  I've also been noticing a coolant puddle below my van.  This leads me to believe that my head gaskets are leaking.  The previous owner claimed that he had the heads rebuilt in 2000 by boston engine, so the heads should be ok, so it may be something else. But in an attempt to look at all of my options, I'm trying to decide what the best way to proceed would be if the engine were done for: whether I should rebuild or convert.  Also, it should be noted that I'm a broke college student and estimated prices for the jobs would be helpful.  <br>Thanks,<br>Dusty
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by Anonymous »

Anonymous

• LiMBO NEWBEE
    • View Profile
Re: Convert or Rebuild?
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2005, 10:56:24 AM »
your best and cheapest way is doing the heed gasket it self.

Anonymous

• LiMBO NEWBEE
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2006, 11:57:13 AM »
Does anyone know any estimates on how much a head gasket job would cost including labor?  Also, if the heads were corroded, how much more would it be if I needed new heads.  Just trying to figure out if I can afford to take it in to my local vw mechanic.<br>Thanks

Red Baron

« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2006, 08:35:23 PM »