For Westies-at-watkins.org check out Watkins 2019
For Empirevwcamping.org go to NY State news on the dashboard.

Author Topic: high altitude  (Read 2511 times)

Anonymous

• LiMBO NEWBEE
    • View Profile
high altitude
« on: May 23, 2005, 10:04:39 AM »
Hello everyone, I am not a member of this org, and I've never written to this type of thing before either, but I've got a question and thought someone out there could answer it. Thanks for all the help.<br><br>I have a 1982 Diesel Vanagon and we live in Vermont. We're trekking out to the high country of Colorado in July. I'm wondering what if any modifications I could do, or what to watch out for up at that altitutde. Frankly, I have no idea how she'll do up there?! <br><br>thanks,<br>mike<br>
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by Anonymous »

Anonymous

• LiMBO NEWBEE
    • View Profile
Re: high altitude
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2005, 05:09:36 AM »
i beleive there will be no problem out west  :),but do take a copy of the airs list from the type 2.com site ;) . becareful the list is very long for some states . example north caralina takes 50 pages alone. :o

Red Baron

« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2005, 10:15:29 PM »
Don't forget to join LiMBO and get a copy of the Transporter Traveler and Tourist directory (TTT)  Its a list a members in both LiMBO and NEATO that can offer some help in the event of a break down.  Many members don't mind just a visit for some coffee and conversation. Its a very handy book.  <br><br>I don't have any high altitude driving, but I'm told that in a gas engine. the lower the octane the better it runs at high altitude.  I recall someone telling me that they bought 82 octane gas in a place in CO.   Not sure how the diesel will handle it.   There might be an adjustment on the injector pump for hi-alt driving.  Check the Bentley book and see.  Also, talk to a diesel truck mechanic.  They may have an idea too.  Good luck.  
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by Red Baron »

Anonymous